Being still

Every breath of wind leaves a mark on something. Every stirring vibration creates a shift or a ripple leading elsewhere. Every sign of life is a wound. Where it all begins or ends we can’t be sure, only that it was before our own first breath. It will continue beyond our last.

I thought I was a stream and with my flow I would look up and move in a dance with the sky.  But it turns out I am a dry stagnant rock, with life crashing around me in rapid chaos as I appear solid and unmoved. What will it take to shatter me?

What will I be next? Sometimes it takes some sitting still to get my bearings, terrifying as it is. Am I safe here?

I invite the sun to bleach me of my fear, blind me into submission and wrap me in it’s all-knowing warmth. Or perhaps I steal from the sun, perhaps it offers me nothing – but I take.

shirleyalison_grampians-1564

shirleyalison_grampians-1567

shirleyalison_grampians-1586

shirleyalison_grampians-1593

shirleyalison_grampians-1970

shirleyalison_grampians-1709

shirleyalison_grampians-1983

shirleyalison_grampians-1960

shirleyalison_grampians-2014

shirleyalison_grampians-1962

shirleyalison_grampians-1996

shirleyalison_grampians-1963

shirleyalison_grampians-2016

shirleyalison_grampians-1670

shirleyalison_grampians-1917

shirleyalison_grampians-2068

The Grampians and the Baroka Downs Retreat are the locations of these images, Victoria.

2 thoughts on “Being still

  1. So beautiful baby – beautiful shots & beautifully written. You’re amazing xx

    Michelle Dunn Creative Director

    MDP Photography & Video info@michelledunn.com.au http://www.michelledunn.com.au 0415 090 061

    /mdpphotovideo @mdpphotovideo

    On Wed, Nov 30, 2016 at 8:32 AM, Alison Shirley Photography wrote:

    > alisonshirleyphotography posted: “Every breath of wind leaves a mark on > something. Every stirring vibration creates a shift or a ripple leading > elsewhere. Every sign of life is a wound. Where it all begins or ends we > can’t be sure, only that it was before our own first breath. It will con” >

Leave a Reply

