Anniversary gig

Well it was an anniversary that I felt like a part of.

After many years spent with the Endless Sea (and previous titles and arrangements) it felt good to be back in the room with everyone together, making sound of the musical type – and also plenty of jokes as always.

A 10 year anniversary gig of the launch of their first album, at the Northcote Social Club was the perfect place to bring back the big sounds of Jen Cloher’s skilled song-writing.

It’s not just the music and the people that make this significant for me.

For a few years a long time ago, I worked for a company that I now see as having been what we often refer to now, as TOXIC.

I was a photographer and I was quite confident in my skills. I’d worked for some awesome people and been self-employed and had happily seen and managed many situations, shoots and people.

Somehow this one company and the way they worked and spoke about others and treated myself and other contractors, really dug me a big murky hole of self-doubt, which I slipped into and struggled to get out.

The result was that I stopped picking up my camera for any reason at all, play or pay.

Until my partner at the time gave me my first digital camera as a gift – thanks Jen Sholakis!!

It was then that I started taking photos of her band and many other things, just for fun – and to started to embrace this new DIGITAL thing!!!

So it was, that I watched and captured Jen Cloher and The Endless Sea becoming a band and a musical family around me. My musical family.

And now, 10 years after that first album release, I returned to the fold for a couple of hours to reunite with these awesome musos. They sounded as fantastic as ever.

And here’s how they’re lookin…..  (pretty great as always!)

 

shirleyalison1-0774

shirleyalison1-0790

shirleyalison1-0820

shirleyalison1-0850

shirleyalison1-0866

shirleyalison1-0869

shirleyalison1-0901

shirleyalison1-0916

shirleyalison1-0919

shirleyalison1-0969

shirleyalison1-1016

shirleyalison1-1070

shirleyalison1-1101

shirleyalison1-1116

shirleyalison1-1157

shirleyalison1-1165

shirleyalison1-1176

shirleyalison1-1181

shirleyalison1-1200

shirleyalison1-1210

shirleyalison1-1214

shirleyalison1-0855

Thanks to all of you, Sholaki, Jen, Droid, Geoffy and Michael for loving me as an artist and for being the inspiration for moving forward again with my photography.

 

Leave a Reply

